LONG OVERDUE UPDATE

For those of you who follow me on Facebook, or who keep in touch via email or phone, it will be no surprise to you that I made it to Florida – on my bike!

For those of you who only follow me on my blog, I apologize for the nearly 6 month lag in posts. But let me assure you, I did indeed make it to Florida – on my bike!  I know, it’s hard to believe. It still hasn’t sunk in.

I am on Amelia Island – the most north east point in the state – go any further north, and you’ll be in Georgia. I am staying with my cousin, Kim and trying to find work in order to fund the next part of my ride – up the east coast into Maine.

I obviously underestimated how much it would cost to do this adventure, and I was pretty near broke when I got here.  I am still looking for work.  “For nearly 6 months?” you ask. Well, not exactly.

I got here near the end of March and shortly after that, my little brother had a stroke so I hightailed it up to Anchorage, Alaska to help out.  I spent a couple of weeks at the hospital every day with my Sis-in-law, nieces and assorted friends and family. I was trained on how to assist my brother in getting around, but his recovery was quite remarkable, and by the time he left the hospital he was walking with only a cane. He started back at work four days later.  Feeling useless, I thought I should try to find some work for while I was up there. Fortunately, one of the cousins needed help at her business, so I got to work for the next six weeks. For this I will always be thankful.

Still, I’ve been back for 2 months with no luck finding work. It is a small island and the nearest city is a forty-five minute drive away… but still.

Okay. Enough of that. When I arrived here I breathed a huge sigh of relief and exhaustion and got out of the habit of writing.  So, I owe blogs for the rest of Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, and Florida. And they will be forthcoming. I promise!

In the meantime, please enjoy these pictures of this beautiful island, a real treasure, and not at all like other parts of Florida.

Leave a Reply

